Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2003-07-04 - 5:54 p.m.

Florida has been beautiful and sunny this entire week. I am tan and feel polished by sand and surf - nothing like a tumble thru the waves to exfoliate ALL your parts. It has been good and Talia and I have laughed and laughed... stress relieving and healing anyway you look at it.

The purge of the house has been a lightening of the load on many levels. Its been great passing on bits of my life and history to various folks as this thing or that pops up and I think, 'Hmmmmmm, this is perfect for so and so.' Voluntary simplicity; and this trip brings that home to me on a variety of levels.

It has been interesting to spend time laying in the warm comfort of the sun or floating in the ocean and contemplating the redefining of myself. More so while in the company of my dear friend whose every moment is made precious with the awareness of cancer continues to eat away at her body and shorten our time together. Suddenly many of my issues seem trivial.

And so it is that I find myself contemplating forgiveness and its role in the healing of ourselves; compassion and its role in understanding others; letting go of anger because even righteous anger does not really serve us in the long run. And maybe, most importantly, NOT taking things personally - realizing that we often have absolutely no idea what is really going on in a person's life.

The comtemplating (and hopefully learning and growing) will continue in between drinking pina coladas, suntan lotion massages and good girlie movies... The Sweetest Thing, Yaya Sisterhood and the like. Truly it has been a good week!!!!

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!