Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

25 July, 2003 - 11:25 a.m.

The first rule is to keep an untroubled spirit. The second is to look things in the face and know them for what they are. -- Marcus Aurelius, Roman Emperor

It has been an incredibly busy and sometimes difficult week. No surprise there. Lots to get done here in Fayetteville before I clear out and let Forgal have the house. The phone continues to ring with worried calls.... amazingly, it is the kindness of others that makes me weep the most.

Had dinner with Valeria last night. She is soooo grown up. Her success is certainly a bright spot in my world.

While racing to mow the yard (which used to be Valeria's chore - now she's happy to charge me to come and do it.)before the next rain hit, I found myself marveling that some of the very people who have found themselves at the center of the ugliest of rumor mongering, and felt the SCA was horrible because folks who didn't even know them had chosen to jump to conclusions, involve themselves in stuff that they knew nothing about, and judge and condemn them to boot... well, it seems that these are the same people who themselves are now participating in the judgment and condemnation of me.

Hmmmmm... perhaps it is that misery loves company. Maybe they just can't help but revel because it takes the heat off them for a while. Who knows? Certainly one would think that compassion (or at least the benefit of the doubt) would be in order.

Anyway, the weekend approaches but I have painting to finish. Hoping to get pictures posted here soon to show off some of my work.

Gavin is having another load of sand delivered as the back breaking installation of the pool continues. Kenda and I may attend a local costuming thingie. Plan to see Gen&Edwyn tonight and maybe Ceridwen tomorrow. It should be a good weekend.

Hope you have a good one as well.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!