Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

26 July, 2003 - 1:06 p.m.

Appreciation is a powerful tool to shift perspective. Finding something to appreciate during a difficult situation quickly moves the perspective to the big picture from the little picture.

-- From Chaos to Coherence

I am at Gen&Edwyn's and most truly appreciate that they have a cable modem. I also appreciate that I do not have small children.... though I did reach a level of parenthood that you must be a parent to understand.

Have you ever found yourself thrusting your hand out to catch spit or vomit or snot or whatever because it was better to have it on your hand, which is washable, than on the furniture or whatever??? This, I think it one of the true signs of parenthood. I know I even do it with my cat... Its 2 am and all of a sudden I feel the bed shake and hear the heaving noises begin. Yup, I move fast and find his little head and get my hand between him and the sheets, cause my hand will clean up a lot faster than the bedding. So totally gross, I know. And when I used to see or hear mothers talking about this I would think "Nope, not me." Reality changes things, huh? Yup, I am pleased to be done parenting.

I also appreciate Ceridwen. Got her telling stories of JrROTC camp last night. She had us laughing until there were tears. Am trying to convince her to do Diaryland so we can all keep up with her better.

Anyway the sun is shining (another thing I always appreciate) and I love it. I have tuned up dive gear (yes, both his and mine) to pick up before I head home and finish the mural in the bedroom.

I think Monday is my last day here in Fayetteville/Windmasters. Then Mom's in Norfolk/Marinus will be home base when I am not off painting somewhere.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!