Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

09 September, 2003 - 7:01 p.m.

Coronation was a beautiful day. Crystal clear skies, low humidity, nice temperature and sunshine. The drive was beautiful too. Which is nice as those of us coming from the Richmond area spent extra time on the road. It was a beautiful road though, lined with the deep greens of shade trees and wide splashes of yellow daisies... small golden suns smiling at me and aiding me in keeping my humor while practicing some circular navigation.

Parked and paid and the shuttle arrived with no waiting. The welcoming crew were all smiles. Caroline has a great smile, don't you think? She also verified that I was not particularly ditzy and that others had also had difficulty with the directions... glad to know it wasn't just me. I arrived late but got to see Isobel made Duchess. Just lovely.

The day was full of smiles and hugs. The tourney afforded me the opportunity to ransom many of Atlantia's fighters with gorgeous roses provided by Their Majesties. Some folks seemed skeptical about the new idea but it worked out just fine and the fighters at my dinner table seemed to have enjoyed themselves mightily.

Baroness Johanna was a particular bright spot as she saw fit to stop gossip where she found it; an act that I believe is not done often enough. Not participating in it is not that same as stopping it in it tracks - an old rant. Only one person actually felt the need to be rude to me - I wish I could say it was a surprise. *sigh*

ANYWAY, it was a really good day! Nia and Anne rescued my dehydrated butt with ice cold water and even some celery sticks. I love celery sticks. Alan and Gen provided shade. Tindal and Felix made me laugh. Kenda made sure I ate real food. Tonwyn warmed my heart. Kilmeny sang for me and others. Sorcha fed me ice cream with chocolate syrup which I like almost as much as celery sticks. Andrew does great impressions. Kevin has a great voice. Arielle wore a June Bug for a while which distressed Val and amused me. Francesca and I always find something to laugh about and did. Isobel was beautiful. Aryanna helped me be my best self. Nia continues to inspire. So many people touch my world.... even some new people whose names have escapsed me.

Most surprising moment was to have a young fighter reference my scrolls and painted garb... thank you Oddie.

I did miss the A&S. Bummer. I did fail Their Majesties by not having my scribal equipment with me. After checking with the other scribal types I knew, it turns out none of us did. Note to self - always bring calligraphy pens at the very least!!!

Thank you, to all of you, for your warmth and smiles and support. It made for a lovely weekend which helped me keep my perspective on Sunday morn when the starter on the van died. It all worked out - 6 hours with new friends and then, finally, I was on the road home.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!