Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

12 September, 2003 - 8:40 a.m.

Life IS a series of challenges, is it not?

I have spent my morning contemplating the nature of the challenges I face and how best to deal with them. Yet, I know that I am most certainly NOT the only one dealing with the surprises and challenges of life. One of my dear friends wrote me last night to ask how to cope.... How to cope with the idea that there may be more cancer? How to cope with the fear that the doctors will make the same mistakes with her as they did with a friend of her's we buried in January?

There are also thoughts and concerns about the impact this is having on her man. And what can be done about that? How does one deal with the fear which once calmed is reawakened with each new phone call from the doctor, each subsequent test result? In between all this, there is dealing with the fear and reactions of family and friends......... the ripple effect of who we are and who is touched by knowing us.

This morning has challenged my brain in an effort to be kind and supportive, helpful and reassuring, while also being clear about NOT wallowing in harmful emotions that are a waste of time and counter-productive. So easy to say - most certainly not so easy to do.

So, let me share this instead......

I wish you a day of ordinary miracles..... A fresh pot of coffee you didn't make yourself. An unexpected phone call from an old friend. Green stoplights on your way to work or shop. I wish you a day of little things to rejoice in... The fastest line at the grocery store. A good sing along song on the radio. Your keys right where you look.

I wish you a day of happiness and perfection - little bite-size pieces of perfection that give you the funny feeling that a higher power is smiling on you, holding you so gently because you are someone special and rare.

I wish You a day of Peace, Happiness and Joy.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!