Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

18 September, 2003 - 11:01 a.m.

I awoke to what sounded like the pound of the surf in the yard which turned out to be the roar of the wind thru the trees. The wind slamming the individual drops of rain into the window above my head making a tap, tap, tapping sound like small stones. Immediately I was up opening the blinds to take in the view. I love watching storms. I went back and safely curled in the bed, yowling cat in lap, and watched the rain come down in sheets making its path in white lines across the rooftop (because of the L shape of the house I can see the living room roof from my bedroom) while in the background the tree tops bent and shook terribly as they snapped back and forth with their leaves whirling and shimmying. I am pleased that we had all the large trees, but most especially the pines, removed from my mother's yard. I am now wishing more of the neighbors had done the same, for the trees here abouts are old and tall (the name of the subdivision is Forest Park) and can reach the house should their age and subsequent inflexibility catch up with them.

I find myself eyeing the location of the van now parked in the street. It is as far from any large trees as I can get it and not directly under the power lines. The curb area is bound to flood but other choices are closer to large wobbly pines... I am thinking the van will recover from the water faster than a tree.

Another gust of wind booms around the house reminding me of thunder although so far there is not lightening so no thunder. Yet.... something to look forward to I guess.

There are already 100,000 homes without power - so this is likely to be my last entry for a while. I am contemplating some pictures as I can of both the storm and afterwards. (Besides it will make it more real and interesting for y'all.) The power of Ma Nature is rather awesome to behold.... the news is even showing us the idiots who are down at Va Beach IN THE WATER and reassuring us that anyone stupid enough to be out and get themselves hurt will be on their own as rescue personnel will not be sacrificed. Right on! Very like the lock downs during typhoons in Okinawa.

The weather man says Isabel hasn't even actually arrived yet. The cat says he doesn't care this is just too freaky. He continues to voice his opinion that this needs to stop and we, his humans who control all things, need to do something about it. Mom is a little freaked as well but is vacuuming and cleaning and channeling the energy elsewhere... and I get to contemplate just how much like my mom I am.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmm..... that might be scarier than the storm.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!