Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

07 October, 2003 - 10:05 p.m.

The recovery from Hurricane Isabel continues. Daily I see the improvements as I drive. Lines and poles are up, traffic lights working, the main roads are clearing. Although the neighborhoods aren't yet:

Folks with pick-up trucks have been hauling off some of the larger dead fall... I am thinking fire wood or maybe for projects as some of the trunks are HUGE. The city did send around a truck to collect all the bagged stuff which helped a lot. Driving thru here at night is tricky as many of the piles come well out into the street. Some piles are so high it makes it difficult to see over them, around them or even see the houses:

Some of what I see just makes me stop and stare... like this root ball which took the curb and part of the street with it. Powerline is still down as their place as well. Notice the fence in the background, looks rather like mine. (Another thing on my To-Do List.)

But it is the damage to the houses that makes me count my blessings the most. This one is in my Isabel's Touch entry with the tree laying on it. Here it is again with the tree removed:

Then there is the same house from the other side:

Things ARE steadily improving all around if you have the eyes to see it. They should even have the midtown tunnel open by week's end.... I think they finally managed to get all the water back out of it.

Anyway, Mom moved to the rehabiltation center today to start physical therapy which is really good. I spent part of my evening over at a neighbor's helping pick the husband up off the floor again. He is maybe 50 and has some degenative neuro-muscular thing and so falls over/down a lot. He is a big man, bigger even than my dad, maybe 270lbs. I am going to have to learn to lift again so that I don't need back surgery next.... All the while I will continue counting my blessings that it is not my mother or someone else dear to me that I am lifting; and that my nerve disorder never went neuro-muscular as the doctors had thought it might.

Yes indeed, blessings all over the place.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!