Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

02 December, 2003 - 1:06 p.m.

I am in Missouri. My birth mother has not been well for quite some time. I need to be here now.... our talks and the quiet time in between while she rests leaves me thoughtful.

Funny how we (human beings) usually think of ourselves as open minded and objective when, in fact, our approach to ourselves, our circumstances and others, is often filtered and even obscured by pre-existing notions and ideas -- by our upbringing, our values, our past experiences.

These filters are an all-pervasive influence that profoundly color our relationships with people, circumstances and even ourselves. Can you recognize the striking limits we impose on ourselves when working thru filters of pain, anger, bitterness and fear? Imagine instead of viewing each person, each situation thru the filters of love, trust, compassion and understanding.

I think we take for granted that things "are" a particular way. Imagine what a dramatic shift we would experience IF we could act outside of existing views and limits, and redefine ourselves and the reality we have known.

--- sigh ---

I can imagine it.

Anyway...

It is supposed to snow here tonight and tomorrow. Yes, SNOW and then it will clear off so I can fly out of hear Friday. Right. All things going as planned - as much as my life ever goes as planned. I should be home Friday evening and plan to make Unevent.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!