Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

04 December, 2003 - 9:35 a.m.

You cannot do a kindness too soon, for you never know how soon it will be too late.

�Ralph Waldo Emerson

What a great quote!!! Thanks moirarowan/Kim

I am still here, just outside of Kansas City, Missouri right now. (My birth mother is only 30 minutes from the War of the Lilies site.... too bad the timing is off.) The snow is clearing although the temperatures are freezing. Seems like the front is moving to the east coast and I will fly home in time to deal with it some more.

Let me tell you that it IS weird to suddenly have siblings and thus nieces and nephews after growing up an only child. My days are spent visiting my mother, comparing similarities, talking about family history and her personal history, laughing at the similarities.

I am the child that looks most like my mother. At my grandfather's funeral the great aunts thought I was her as we look so much alike. Without my grandfather's help I'd have never have found her. He was the key.

So much I would have attributed to nurture over nature, such as hand gestures, facial expressions.... however we share them..... and laugh each time we do it in sync. We also have the same favorite colors, are crafters, love cats and travel. Similarities in health issues is not a big surprise. The similarities in food/taste preferences was... none of us drink coffee. It is all an interesting studying in genetic predisposition.

Did you know that there are many people we know are adopted or missing one half of their birth parents? Amalric just met his father for the first time. Ceridwen and Kai haven't looked for theirs yet. Others carry a bitterness that seems to stem from feeling abandoned. I have found more than I ever expected and am regularly fascinated by the connections.

Life is full of surprises.

Be kind.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!