Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

09 December, 2003 - 11:42 p.m.

Life update:

I am finally back from the cold wilds of Kansas City, Missouri..... it was COLD! Today was a day of catching up here; laundry, groceries, trash, unexpected visitors, mail, kitty loving. BUSY!

My bio-mom's health is a worry and I will be making regular trips there. My mom's back surgery is healing well and thus there is likely to be more surgery (knee replacements) soon. The burn she gave her unfeeling backside with the heating pad is not healing at all and begins to rot. Very gross, smelly and scary. The final part of my grandfather's burial is in Arlington on Friday.... I am exhausted and feel like I am fighting something and yet want to be there.

Wonder if I'll make it? Be a nice opportunity to meet more family I didn't know I had. Always fun to watch them try to figure out how I fit. I look so familiar.

*evil grin*

Antarctica is not happening this season. Budget cuts for the National Science Foundation meant my job got cut too. Sucks really. Now I have to figure out what I want to do that pays.... Going back to school would be cool. The difficulty would be in narrowing my interests. Would it be for marine biology or nursing, theology or linguistics, real art classes (finally) or build on my foreign language degree????

Starting over and rebuilding my life... some days its an exciting adventure. Others, its just plain terrifying. Some days there is such a sense of loss, disappointment and hopelessness..... other days I find myself full of wonder and counting my many blessings especially for my health. So many of my blessings are in the form of family (I have cool sisters and 2 moms) and friends all over the world.

I am also steadily building a new group of friends here both SCA and non. I think its important to keep a 50/50 split - it helps keep it all in perspective.

"The best advisers, helpers and friends, always are not those who tell us how to act in special cases, but who give us, out of themselves, the ardent spirit and desire to act right, and leave us then, even through many blunders, to find out what our own form of right action is."

Phillips Brooks (1835 - 1893)

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!