Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

18 April, 2005 - 12:44 a.m.

Tournament of Chivalry was great!

The weather was sunny and clear. Wisteria in bloom and draped all along the edges of the forests. The white blooms of dogwoods setting off the purple of the wisteria and the occasional magenta plum tree. The wind kept things cooler than I usually care for but the fighters were thankful I bet, as last year's heat is a miserable memory for many of them. A mere 311 people and 88 fielded fighters - not bad for a little ol' local event run by kids.

Exchanging smiles and hugs with so many is always good. A pleasant surprise in the heartland of my eX-husband and eX-household. Even better were the faces that are rarely seen anymore.... got to work with Graffin Judith in the kitchen most of the day. Then there was Sorcha and her daughter up from Meridies. Duchess Simon's son, William, was a hoot in the kitchen. Always nice to see Duke Paul and what a great boon to the fighters to have him there teaching. Master Efen came to the kitchen to entertain us and brought his oldest boy, Aedan, maybe 3 years old, who sang the alphabet song and then provided sound effects for his father's music much to the delight of us in the kitchen. Met new people too.... even put some names which I have heard and known together with the faces finally... all good. Lots of laughter and fun and hugs and smiles and sunshine and friends.

This was Tindal and Etain's last event in Atlantia for a while if not forever. (Forever is a very long time.) It was their son Drake's first event and into court he went in his proud papa's papoose to collect his first-timers garter given out by the queen. Tindal was given a King's Award of Excellence and an Augmentation of Arms. He is such a good and well rounded human being. They both are. Definitely our loss and Aethelmarc's gain.

Fun also applying my last entry's advice............. asking gently: Is it true? Is it good? Is it at least useful? None of these things? Then please don't share it with me. People do look stunned when you have a critteria for what you want to spend your time engaged in conversation about and then teh conversation shifts. Very nice indeed!

Of course, some of my friends don't play any more but I still spend time with them. Gen and Edwyn are as wonderful as ever. Their boys are, well, are really BOYS now.... not toddlers anymore. Computer using and articulate too. Measuring time by the growth of children is kind of scary. Can even make you feel guilty about being absent too long. Anyway, we all had a great time and even went rock collecting together. Because I keep painting rocks.....

This is the spot where a picture of my rocks is supposed to be IF this damned diaryland would let me upload it.............grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Sold some of my painted rocks this weekend. Nothing can make an artist's heart sing more than appreciation of the work being shared. Ooows and aahs are nice and then to make some money is even better.... One of Kenda's co-workers bought my little raccoon. I am very excited about the upcoming Art Show I am doing.

I hope the weekend was as wonderful for all of you.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!