Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

03 December, 2003 - 11:05 a.m.

There is snow here. (Mom is off having labwork done - so I am grabbing some computer time. She is a trooper with a ready smile despite all she is dealing with.)

Driving in snow IS special.

Last night, with my sister driving, the car spun out of control and we had a close encounter with the jersey wall in the center of the interstate.

I am fine, just a little sore and bruised on my side. She is fine. The car is mostly fine. Thankfully no one else was involved.

Here's what I don't get....

Why is it that some people's responses are all about the car? Putting down the driver and making the driver feel stupid? Don't you suppose the driver already feels horrible enough as it is? Is it that yelling or name calling might undo the damage? What is the point exactly?

No one has an accident on purpose.... that's why its called an accident.

How about focusing on the facts that no one went to the hospital? No one needs a doctor? No one got dead? No one got arrested? No one got a ticket? The vehicle isn't totalled and so life isn't all too disrupted?

I mean, really, a few thousand pounds of metal moving at high speed has the potential to do MAJOR damage to humans. Lives are regularly totally devasted when such things happen. I am feeling quite lucky myself.

Anyway, driving doesn't stop here just because of snow..... and it continues to fall.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!